How to get Suspended from your Job

 

The day began like every other day. I woke up, cooked breakfast and then browsed my emails. I noticed quickly that I had received an email from Cambly. This got me a little curious as I was wondering what the heck are they emailing me for. When I opened up the email, I noticed Cambly had decided to temporarily suspend my tutoring account due to internet speed concerns. At that moment, the only thing that was racing through my mind was “What the hell?”. They said my internet speed does not appear to be sufficient enough to tutor students on Cambly because its volatile. They claimed that “This impairs your students ability to see your expression and the movement of your mouth, both which are very important for language learners.” I was like “SHIT”. Just what I needed right in the morning.

Our internet connection is under my room mates account so I texted him later that day. He said he was too busy and could do it only on the weekend so I asked him to just give me your account # and I will phone them. I didn’t hear anything back from him after that. It was now getting on my nerves and I didn’t want to tutor any students while I wasn’t in the right mood, so I decided to just leave it for tomorrow…

The next day I phoned up the ISP and of course, they said they couldn’t really help me because its under my room mate’s name but I managed to get them to help me out enough so that I was able to figure out what was the likely cause of it. It turns out there’s nothing wrong with the connection but rather his router. It appears that there is a lot of interference in our wireless signal since we live in an apartment. I had to fight through tooth and nail to eventually get our connection back up to a stable connection, although we still aren’t getting full speeds until the internet connection is plugged in directly through a network cable. Since my room mates moving out this weekend, I decided to just hold off on tutoring for a few days until I can get back to full internet speeds.

I’ll post a follow up in a few days.

Leave a Reply

