Things to be Thankful For

 

Well today marks my 30th birthday, I’m now officially 1 year older and wiser then last year. This is probably also one of the darkest periods in my life. I’ve been through a lot this past year.

but even though I’m pretty much dirt broke right now and can’t afford to buy myself a present nor a birthday cake. I’m trying to embrace a new philosophy of life which involves being more positive and thankful for the things that I do have such as:

  1. My health. There are a lot of people out there who are in way way worse shape then me.
  2. I grew up in a developed country with clean air,fresh water, and doesn’t have thugs running around rampant.
  3. I have a roof over my head
  4. Good health care
  5. Had a good Canadian education.

Sometimes when you feel down and lonely, and you feel like you have no control over your life any more, just remember this… You have control over your outlook and attitude. I’ve learnt through these struggles that its much better to look for the positives in everything then the negatives. You can choose how you see things. I think this will allow you to take the proper action when its required instead of wallowing in self pity. Because of this positive outlook I decided to embrace, I was able to find $10 on the floor today because I was more attentive to my surroundings. Not bad for a birthday gift eh? I ended up going to Krispy Kreme and stuffing my face with 2 donuts. I hadn’t had these babies for 6 months now and have been craving it like crazy ever since.

What are you guys thankful for? Please leave a comment below.

2 thoughts on “Things to be Thankful For

  1. Happy Birthday! (a little late, but nonetheless…)

    I really admire your positive outlook. I, for one, am thankful for friends, family, health and the amazing technology which allows us to communicate across nations! I remember my 30th was a bit rubbish, as I’d just moved to a new country and didn’t know anybody. My new colleagues took me out for dinner and drinks which was nice of them, but it felt a little awkward as we didn’t know each other very well. Anyway, I think the media likes to push the idea that we have it all sorted out by the grand age of 30…when in reality most of us are still figuring it all out. Best wishes! xx

    Like

    1. Thank you greenbeans for the birthday wishes! Technology sure has made things convenient for communication with people from around the globe. I like to think of our 20’s as the age of just experimentation and our 30’s as the decade where we really start figuring out where we belong in the universe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

